Appease: Princess and the Pea Retold by Demelza Carlton

A princess who refuses to be a prize. A prince's promise. Perhaps dragons aren't so bad after all.
Once upon a time…
Promised as a prize to any hero who can slay the dragon, Princess Sativa flees the palace in search of the prince she was betrothed to as a child. But there are many miles between her and the boy who has become a king.
Can a lone princess cross the sea and convince the king she's the princess of his dreams?

Romance a Medieval Fairytale series:
Each book is a standalone, so they can be read in any order:
Enchant: Beauty and the Beast Retold (#1)
Dance: Cinderella Retold (#2)
Fly: Goose Girl Retold (#3)
Revel: Twelve Dancing Princesses Retold (#4)
Silence: Little Mermaid Retold (#5)
Awaken: Sleeping Beauty Retold (#6)
Embellish: Brave Little Tailor Retold (#7)
Appease: Princess and the Pea Retold (#8)
Blow: Three Little Pigs Retold (#9)
Wish: Aladdin Retold (#10)

“Truly captivating. My favourite from this series!” – Patti Hayes